Töff, Töff...

Conversion of the LGB tramway steam locomotive "Elias" to battery operation with RC control ...

The aim was a tram-compatible locomotive that, due to battery and radio control, is independent of the track power supply.


Since the space for fixtures in the locomotive is smaller than previously assumed, some components had to be placed under the frame.

An adjustable battery alarm module is placed at the top left. This needs all connections of the battery (balancer connections), because each cell is checked individually for undervoltage. To avoid that the locomotive does not suck the battery empty, the battery must be switched off at all poles simuultanously. For this purpose a relay module was used, this one can be seen on the right in the picture above. The battery switch puts the first one on Tapping of the battery (4 V) on the relay coil and electronics, the relay then switches the 8 V of the second tap to the alarm module and the 12 V of the third cell on the alarm module and the power section of the Speed controller.


Viewing angle rotated 90 to the left ...

In the top center you can see the four-pole battery cable, the one on the left the relay board is supplied with power via the connector.


Look a little further to the right ...

In the top right corner you can see the battery cables of the individual cells on the way to the collection point , which can be seen in the frame at the bottom right in the next picture.

This is a piece of circuit board with 4 strips coming from the right the single cells are connected and to the left that (for all mine three-cell locomotive conversions common) leads out four-wire battery cables. On the left in the frame you can see (still completely white) the charging socket, its Route the cables to the relay board. Above the frame are 3 self-made battery chambers for 2 Li-ion cells connected in parallel the type 18650 mounted, 2 of them on this side, the third on the other side.

The battery switch can be seen on the top right of the coal box. The connections are made between the boiler and the coal box power supply (left three-core cable with 0 V, 4 V and 12 V), motor (right, brown and white) and hall sensor (right, ribbon red-gray-gray) upwards.


Testing...

The battery switch (left in the window) is easily accessible, as is the charging socket (left in the step below the entrance).


This is followed by glimpses from diagonally above to see to what extent the batteries disturb the overall picture.


This is the freshly painted false ceiling in poor light conditions.

It is used to hold a flat loudspeaker and two LEDs (interior lighting).


A "control cabinet" was built for the electronics:

On the left you can see the sound board (ATTiny85 / LM386) to which (above on the right on the left circuit board) the Hall sensor (placed in the gearbox) is connected via connector. On the right edge of the Sound modules are the connections to the locomotive speed controller (multifunctional speed controller with ATTiny2313, logic level power FET and Pole reversal relay, right board) and to the loudspeaker (gray wires) see.

The power supply cable is on the top right of the locomotive controller board attached (ground, 4 V, 12 V). Top left (arranged vertically) is the socket for the RS232 connection. The PC can be connected here to parameterize the CVs of the locomotive speed controller, but also a additional module that implements additional functions. A cable leads to the right to the radio receiver, ...

... which has found space under the coal box. Right on top of the Coal is the connector to the car body, via the front lighting, interior lighting and speakers can be connected. Bottom right is the cable entry from the relay board (black / red / yellow to locomotive controller and gray / gray to the switch).


A few pictures without batteries:


Another look under the frame

The bent copper wires are the fastening tabs for the Battery chambers. The battery cable was fixed with a wire clip, so that it cannot drag on the wheel. The boards on the right are with clamped styrodur blocks.


The car body from the inside:

The false ceiling with loudspeaker and two LEDs (left) is with glued in double-sided tape. At the lower left corner of the Suspended ceiling leads the cable to the front lighting. On the right edge is the connector to the lower part of the locomotive can be seen.

On the front ...

... a circuit board for connecting the 3 front lamps is glued on. This was later covered with black textile tape.


In the headlights ...

... two-colored SMD LEDs (red / yellow) are used that point to small PCB pieces were soldered, which also carry the SMD series resistors. Both LEDs are connected in antiparallel, which causes the color change polarity reversal enabled.

The resistor for the red LED was not fitted in the upper headlight.


The connector between the lower part and the upper part shortly before being connected ...

... and put together.


The radio receiver became a popular request from a single person (Planet R6m) with a connection for an external bind button and LED expanded.

For this purpose, the two pins of the unused connection of channel 6 were removed for plus and impulse separated from the circuit board (pinched out) and using a piece of circuit board (3 solder pads) mechanically with the ground pin connected. These now free pins were connected by means of wire (red / blue-gray) Bind LED and bind button connected.

In the picture you can see how the impulse connections of channels 1, 3 and 5 too by means of diodes to the (originally open) pin of the Battery connection are summarized. This allows locomotive speed controller to read channels 1 to 5 via just one I / O line of the the microcontroller.

The external button / LED combination was above next to the coal box glued. There it is easily accessible, but still not excessive noticeable.


For the battery chambers, covers were made from (1 mm thin) PVC sheets ...

... and covered with black textile tape.

The owner can now place his beer boxes or flower boxes on it.


The front lighting with yellow light ...

... is barely recognizable because of the camera's flash. You can see the red light a little better.


When I tried to open the locomotive for the first time, it was glued in Train driver in the way and had to be broken out in a brutal way, there the glue proved to be quite stubborn. To avoid this during next opening, the engine driver made a hole in the sole of his foot drilled and implanted a neodymium magnet. A second neodymium magnet found space in a hole in the floor of the car:

Now it remains steady fast and even rotatable in its place without hindering the opening of the locomotive.


Zur Eingangsseite

12/2014 by Hannes & bahnrolli 07/12/2021 | Sitemap

Töff, Töff...

Umbau der LGB-Kastendampflok "Elias" auf
Akkubetrieb mit RC-Steuerung...

Ziel war eine straßenbahntaugliche Lok, die dank Akku und Funksteuerung unabhängig von der Gleis-Stromversorgung ist.


Da der Platz für Einbauten in der Lok kleiner als zuvor vermutet ist, mussten einige Komponenten unter dem Rahmen platziert werden.

Links oben ist ein justierbares Akku-Alarm-Modul platziert. Dieses braucht alle Anschlüsse des Akkus (Balancer-Anschlüsse), da es jede Zelle einzeln auf Unterspannung prüft. Damit dieses bei ausgeschalteter Lok nicht den Akku leer lutscht, muss der Akku allpolig abgeschaltet werden. Zu diesem Zweck wurde ein Relais-Modul eingesetzt, das rechts oben im Bild zu sehen ist. Der Batterieschalter schaltet den ersten Abgriff der Batterie (4 V) auf Relais-Spule und Elektronik, das Relais schaltet dann die 8 V des zweiten Abgriffs auf das Alarm-Modul und die 12 V der dritten Zelle auf Alarm-Modul und den Leistungsteil des Fahrtreglers.


Blickwinkel um 90° nach links gedreht...

Oben in der Mitte ist das vierpolige Batteriekabel zu sehen, das links per Steckverbinder die Relaisplatine mit Energie versorgt.


Blick etwas weiter rechts...

In der rechten oberen Ecke sieht man die Batteriekabel der einzelnen Zellen auf dem Weg zur Sammelstelle, die im nächsten Bild unten rechts im Rahmen zu sehen ist.

Diese ist ein Stück Platine mit 4 Streifen, auf das von rechts kommend die Einzelzellen angeschlossen sind und nach links das (bei allen meinen Dreizeller-Lokumbauten übliche) vieradrige Batteriekabel herausführt. Links im Rahmen sieht man (noch ganz in weiß) die Ladebuchse, deren Leitungen zur Relaisplatine führen. Oberhalb des Rahmens sind 3 Eigenbau-Batteriekammern für je 2 parallel geschaltete Li-Ionen-Zellen der Bauform 18650 montiert, 2 davon auf dieser Seite, die dritte auf der anderen Seite.

Rechts oben auf dem Kohlenkasten ist der Batterieschalter zu sehen. Zwischen Kessel und Kohlenkasten werden die Anschlüsse von Stromversorgung (linkes dreiadriges Kabel mit 0 V, 4 V und 12 V), Motor (rechts, braun und weiß) und Hall-Sensor (rechts, Flachband rot-grau-grau) nach oben geführt.


Anprobe...

Der Batterieschalter (links im Fenster) ist gut erreichbar, die Ladebuchse (links in der Stufe unter dem Einstieg) auch.


Es folgen Einblicke von schräg oben, um zu sehen, inwieweit die Akkus das Gesamtbild stören.


Dies ist die frisch lackierte Zwischendecke bei schlechten Lichtverhältnissen.

Sie dient zur Aufnahme eines flachen Lautsprechers und zweier LEDs (Innenbeleuchtung).


Für die Elektronik wurde ein "Schaltschrank" gebaut:

Links ist die Soundplatine (ATTiny85/LM386) zu sehen, an die (oben rechts auf der linken Platine) der Hallsensor (im Getriebe platziert) per Steckverbinder angeschlossen ist. An der rechten Kante des Soundmoduls sind die Verbindungen zum Lok-Fahrtregler (Multifunktions-Fahrtregler mit ATTiny2313, Logiclevel-Leistungs-FET und Umpol-Relais, rechte Platine) und zum Lautsprecher (graue Litzen) zu sehen.

Rechts oben auf der Lokfahrtreglerplatine ist das Stromversorgungskabel aufgesteckt (Masse, 4 V, 12 V). Links oben (senkrecht angeordnet) ist die Steckbuchse für den RS232-Anschluss. Hier kann der PC angeschlossen werden, um die CVs des Lokfahrtreglers zu parametrieren, aber auch ein Zusatzmodul, das weitere Funktionen realisiert. Rechts führt ein Kabel zum Funkempfänger,...

...der unter dem Kohlenkasten Platz gefunden hat. Rechts oben auf der Kohle ist der Steckverbinder zum Wagenkasten, über den Frontbeleuchtung, Innenbeleuchtung und Lautsprecher angeschlossen werden. Rechts unten ist die Kabeldurchführung von der Relaisplatine (schwarz/rot/gelb zum lokfahrtregler und grau/grau zum Schalter).


Ein paar Bilder ohne Akkus:


Nochmal ein Blick unter den Rahmen

Die umgebogenen Kupferdrähte sind die Befestigungslaschen für die Batteriekammern. Das Batteriekabel wurde mit einer Drahtklammer fixiert, damit es nicht am Rad schleifen kann. Die Platinen rechts sind mit eingeklemmten Styrodur-Klötzen fixiert.


Der Wagenkasten von innen:

Die Zwischendecke mit Lautsprecher und zwei LEDs (links) ist mit doppelseitigem Klebeband eingeklebt. an der linken unteren Ecke der Zwischendecke führt das Kabel zur Frontbeleuchtung. Am rechten Rand ist der Steckverbinder zum Unterteil der Lok zu sehen.

Auf der Frontseite...

...ist eine Platine zum Anschluss der 3 Frontlampen angeklebt. Diese wurde später mit schwarzem Textilklebeband abgedeckt.


In den Scheinwerfern...

...sind zweifarbige SMD-LEDs (rot/gelb) eingesetzt, die auf kleine Platinenstücke gelötet wurden, die auch die SMD-Vorwiderstände tragen. Beide LEDs sind dabei antiparallel geschaltet, was den Farbwechsel durch Umpolen ermöglicht.

Im oberen Scheinwerfer wurde der Widerstand für die rote LED nicht bestückt.


Der Steckverbinder zwischen Unterteil und Oberteil kurz vor dem Zusammenstecken...

...und zusammengesteckt.


Auf vielfachen Wunsch einer einzelnen Person wurde der Funkempfänger (Planet R6m) um einen Anschluss für externen Bindetaster und -LED erweitert.

Dazu wurden vom nicht verwendeten Anschluss des Kanal 6 die beiden Pins für Plus und Impuls von der Platine getrennt (herausgekniffen) und mittels eines Stück Platine (3 Lötpads) mechanisch mit dem Massepin verbunden. Diese nun freien Pins wurden mittels Draht (rot/blaugrau) mit Binde-LED und Binde-Taster verbunden.

Auf dem Bild sieht man auch, wie die Impulsanschlüsse der Kanäle 1, 3 und 5 mittels Dioden auf den (original offenen) Pin des Batterieanschlusses zusammengefasst sind. Dies erlaubt dem Lokfahrtregler, die Kanäle 1 bis 5 über nur eine I/O-Leitung des Mikrocontrollers einzulesen.

Die externe Taster/LED-Kombination wurde oben neben dem Kohlenkasten aufgeklebt. Dort ist sie gut erreichbar, aber trotzdem nicht übermäßig auffällig.


Für die Batteriekammern wurden Abdeckungen aus (1 mm dünnen) PVC-Platten angefertigt...

...und mit schwarzem Textilklebeband beklebt.

Darauf kann nun der eigner seine Bierkästen oder Blumenkästen platzieren.


Die Frontbeleuchtung mit gelbem Licht...

...ist wegen des Blitzes der Kamera kaum zu erkennen. Das rote Licht sieht man schon etwas besser.


Als ich die Lok zum ersten mal öffnen wollte, war der eingeklebte Lokführer im Weg und musste auf brutale Art herausgebrochen werden, da sich der Kleber als recht hartnäckig erwies. Um dies beim nächsten Öffnen zu vermeiden, wurde dem Lokführer ein Loch in die Fußsohle gebohrt und ein Neodym-Magnet implantiert. Ein zweiter Neodym-Magnet fand in einer Bohrung im Wagenboden Platz:

Nun bleibt er standhaft und sogar drehbar an seinem Platz stehen, ohne das Öffnen der Lok zu behindern.


Zur Eingangsseite

© 12/2014 by Hannes & bahnrolli 08.06.2021 | Sitemap